What??? A free copy of Monkeybicycle 6???

Posted By jatyler - 3rd June 2011

Jason Jordan is graciously giving away a free copy of MB6, just for a little ‘ol comment on his blog. So go forth, comment, & Mr. Jordan will pull a winner on June 6th. Thanks JJ, the Monkey loves you.




  • St. Lawrence Book Award (save $10)


  • Shut up! I love awards:

    The Writer’s Center Announces New Award: the McLaughlin-Esstman-Stearns First Novel Prize

    BETHESDA, MD (April 4, 2011)—Thanks to the generosity of one of its board members, Neal P. Gillen, The Writer’s Center is pleased to announce that it will award $500 annually to the author of the best first novel published during a given calendar year. Conceived and funded by Gillen, the McLaughlin-Esstman-Stearns Prize honors three dedicated writers and members of The Writer’s Center faculty—Ann McLaughlin, Barbara Esstman, and Lynn Stearns—each of whom, Gillen says, “unselfishly nourish and inspire students and fellow writers.”

    The Writer’s Center is accepting submissions from authors and publishers from now until July 15. Please read further for eligibility and requirements.

    Eligibility and Requirements: All first novels are eligible, including those published by major, independent, and self-publishing presses. Only American authors publishing in English are eligible. All entries must be postmarked by July 15, 2011. Entries not postmarked prior to or on this date will be ineligible, and they will not be returned unless accompanied by a self-addressed stamped envelope. Authors must submit 3 copies of their published novel along with a contact cover sheet indicating name, address, phone number, and e-mail address (no cover letter required). No galley proofs will be accepted. Following the judging process, manuscripts will not be returned unless accompanied by a self-addressed stamped envelope with sufficient postage. The Writer’s Center is not responsible for lost or damaged manuscripts. Writer’s Center staff, board, and workshop leaders may not enter.

    Send submissions via regular mail only (postmarked no later than July 15) to Zachary Fernebok, Administrative Coordinator, 4508 Walsh Street, Bethesda, MD 20815

    Judging: The Writer’s Center will solicit a group of no more than 15 volunteer judges to serve as first-round judges. These volunteers will evaluate books to determine if they meet eligibility requirements, and they will read and evaluate the submissions. Submissions advancing to the second round of judging will be evaluated by a team of 3 final judges. Final judges will be selected from our membership and workshop leader pool. These judges will determine at their sole discretion the Award recipient.

    The Winner: The Winner will be announced in October. He or she will receive a feature in the Winter/Spring edition of the Workshop & Event Guide, at Writer.org and The Writer’s Center’s blog, First Person Plural. In addition, if feasible he or she will be invited to read at The Writer’s Center during a reception to honor his or her work.

    About The Writer’s Center: The Writer’s Center is supported in part by The Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County, and by a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council, an agency funded by the State of Maryland and the National Endowment for the Arts. The Writer’s Center also receives funding from the Cafritz Foundation, the Tau Foundation, The Max and Victoria Dreyfus Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. The Writer’s Center gratefully acknowledges assistance received from the Cultural Alliance of Greater Washington’s Business Volunteers for the Arts program. Visit our Web site at www.writer.org.


1 Comment

  1. Alex McPherson

    uuu, free copies! I luv MB… best short stories in the universe. Thx for making it happen.