Monkeybicycle is an online literary journal which is updated almost daily. We were also a print journal for a time, publishing nine issues in total over several years. Many of these—which feature amazing writing from people like Ben Loory, Roxane Gay, Laura van den Berg, Sarah Silverman, Patton Oswalt and tons more—can still be found here.

Founded in 2002 in Seattle, WA, Monkeybicycle has continued to publish the absolute highest quality in a wide range of literary categories. Twice, works we’ve published were selected for inclusion in the Best American Nonrequired Reading anthologies and have a selection in the 2018 Best Small Fictions anthology.


Founder/Editor: Steven Seighman

Website Editor: James Tate Hill

Editors emeritus: Shya Scanlon, Laura Carney, Jacob Smith, Eric Spitznagel, Matthew Simmons, Andrew Ervin, J. Bradley, J.A. Tyler, Jessa Marsh, Katie Schwartz.